Wyoming Arts Council

Governor’s Arts Awards

For event information, please go to the GAA Events Page.


What is the Governor’s Arts Awards?

Established in 1982, the Governor’s Arts Awards recognize artists, arts organizations and patrons who have displayed excellence in the arts and outstanding service to the arts in Wyoming. These awards were first made possible by an endowment from the Union Pacific Foundation in honor of Mrs. John U. Loomis, a life-long patron of the arts. Over the years, individuals and organizations from more than 21 Wyoming communities and state-wide organizations have been honored for their dedication to the arts in Wyoming.

Each year, WAC has a public nomination process with nominations due in early October. The Award Ceremony takes place in Cheyenne in February, and is a gala event with a number of elected officials attending each year. The Governor gives a State of the Arts speech, awardees are honored, and there is some kind of entertainment, usually by an awardee.

Any Wyoming citizen, organization, business or community may be nominated for a Governor’s Art Awards (GAA). Noted accomplishments reflect substantial contributions, made in Wyoming, that exemplify a long-term commitment to the arts. Special consideration is given to nominees whose arts service is statewide.

Postmark deadline is Oct. 9 for 2015 Governor’s Arts Awards

The Wyoming Arts Council now is accepting nominations for the 2015 Governor’s Arts Awards.

Previous GAA recipients are not eligible for nomination, but nomination of previously unselected nominees is encouraged. Current Wyoming Arts Council board members, staff members, contractors and members of their families are not eligible for nomination.

Submissions must be postmarked no later than October 9, 2015.

Click here to download a 2015 nomination form.

For more information, contact 307-777-7742 or brittany.perez@wyo.gov

List of Governor’s Arts Award recipients, 1982-2014


Tom Lucas — Dubois

Zachary Pullen — Casper

Jim Wilcox — Jackson


Guadalupe Barajas — Cheyenne

Babs Case — Jackson

Bar J Wranglers — Wilson

Bruce Richardson — Casper

Norma Sturges — Casper

View videos of the winners and the Awards.


AVA Community Art Center — Gillette

Jalan Crossland—Ten Sleep

Lynn Munns—Casper

View videos of the winners and the Awards.


Eagle Bronze Foundry – Lander

Michael C. Poulsen – Cody

Dr. Seymour Thickman – Sheridan

PALS: Promoting Arts in Lander Schools – Lander

View videos of the winners and the Awards.


Bradford Brinton Memorial & Museum – Big Horn

Michael Masterson – Powell

Stage III Community Theatre – Casper

pARTners – Jackson

Nancy Curtis – Glendo


Don Butler – Sheridan

Duane Evenson – Gillette

Naoma J. Tate – Cody

Louise Wesswick – Rock Springs

Wyoming Educators of Secondary Theatre


Park County Arts Council – Cody

Jerry Palen – Saratoga

Diane Springford – Lander

Tandem Productions – Sheridan


Lander Community Concerts Association

Neil Hansen – Powell

Mike McClure – Lander

Tucker Smith – Pinedale


Candra Day – Jackson

Razmick Sarkissian – Sheridan

Barbara Smith – Rock Springs

Creative Arts Program, Ark Regional Services – Laramie


William Missouri Downs – Laramie

Neltje – Banner

Oyster Ridge Music Festival – Kemmerer

Ucross Foundation Residency Program – Clearmont


All City Children’s Chorus – Cheyenne

Gaydell Collier – Sundance

Dr. Jane Leland Iverson – Cheyenne

Holly Turner – Casper


Art Association – Jackson

Casper Children’s Chorale

Rod Garnett – Laramie

Susie & Mick McMurry – Casper


Jo Crandall – Pinedale

John S. Giarrizzo – Powell

The Honorable Stanley K. and Mrs. Roberta “Bobby” Hathaway – Cheyenne


Arts in Action – Riverton

Dr. Sloan and Anna Marie Hales – Cheyenne

The National Museum of Wildlife Art – Jackson

Ronald Steger – Laramie


Dancers Workshop – Jackson

Sara Wiles – Lander

Lynne Livingston Simpson – Laramie


Susie Dowler – Gillette

David Romtvedt – Buffalo

Dr. Patricia Tate – Laramie

Wind River Artists Guild & Headwaters Community Arts and Conference Center – Dubois


Janet Ahlquist – Casper

Earl Sams Lightner – Jackson

Sophie Pelissier – Sheridan

Sublette County Artists Guild – Pinedale


Hands in Harmony – Cheyenne

Tom Empey – Casper

Joffa and Bill Kerr – Jackson

Platte Valley Arts Council – Saratoga


David B. Anderson – Douglas

Elizabeth Guheen – Clearmont

D. Michael Thomas – Buffalo


Jo Campbell – Gillette

Jackson State Bank

Bud Boller – Dubois

Wyoming Writers, Inc.


Buffalo Bill Center of the West (previously Buffalo Bill Historical Center) – Cody

Dr. Gladys Crane – Laramie

Margaret Peck – Riverton

Wyoming State Museum – Cheyenne


Ronnie Bedford – Powell

Jean Paulene Goedicke – Casper

Margaret Small Mains – Laramie

Washakie County Museum and Cultural Center – Worland


William D. Weiss – Teton Village

ARTCORE – Casper

Wyoming Secondary Art Educators Association


Margery Barber – Lander

William Dubois – Cheyenne

Albany County Elementary Art Program – Laramie

Key Bank of Wyoming – Cheyenne


Grand Teton Music Festival – Teton Village

Harry Jackson – Cody

Eva McAdams – Fort Washakie

Wayne McIntyre – Casper


Peter H. Hassrick – Cody

Donald L. King – Sheridan

Ann Simpson – Cody

Cheyenne Little Theater Players


Margaret Coe – Cody

George Hufsmith – Jackson

Nicolaysen Art Museum – Casper

Powder River Arts Council – Gillette


Mary Back – Dubois

Mountain Bell Foundation – Cheyenne

James Boyle – Laramie

Arts Edition, Casper Star Tribune


Gertrude Krampert – Casper

Elizabeth (Betsy) Taggart – Cheyenne

University of Wyoming Art Mobile – Laramie

Western Arts Trio – Laramie


Symphony and Chorale Society of Cheyenne

James T. Forrest – Laramie

Harmon Watt – Riverton

KUWR Wyoming Public Radio – Laramie


Casper Symphony Assocation

Rock Springs/Sweetwater County

Pamela McCool – Jackson

Stagehands of Cheyenne


Union Pacific Foundation – Cheyenne

Pinedale Fine Arts Council

Charles Levendosky – Casper


Unicover Corporation – Cheyenne

Fine Arts Council of Saratoga

Historical and Cultural Association

Tonia Burnette – Riverton

Contact: Brittany Perez