Wyoming Arts Council

WAC announces recipients of 2014 Visual Arts Fellowship Awards

Suzanne Morlock of Wilson, Do Palma of Cheyenne and Aaron Wallis of Jackson are the recipients of 2014 Wyoming Arts Council Visual Arts Fellowships.

The three winners were announced during an awards reception in the Peck Gallery at Central Wyoming College in Riverton. This was the final event at the CLICK! Symposium for Visual Artists held April 4-6 at various venues in Fremont County.

Morlock repurposes found and recycled items into mixed media sculptures, Palma is a fiber artist and Wallis is a printmaker.

Honorable mentions were presented to Diana Baumbach, Bailey Russel and Doug Russell, all of Laramie.

Work by these 2014 fellowship recipients, along with those selected for 2015 fellowships, will be included in the next Biennial Fellowship Exhibition hosted by the University of Wyoming Art Museum in the summer of 2016.

The Jurors for the 2014 Visual Arts Fellowships were Sean Miller, an educator and interventionist artist from Gainesville, Fla; art curator and educator Marjorie Vecchio, Reno Nev; and curator Julie Muniz, Walnut Creek, Calif.

The jurors expressed appreciation for the diversity and quality of the artwork they reviewed on April 3. They noted that while much of the artwork showed direct ties to the landscape and culture around the state, there was also work that dealt with issues and ideas reaching far beyond Wyoming.

The three jurors held one-on-one meetings with artists on Friday and Sunday mornings to review the artists’ work and offer constructive criticism, ideas and encouragement. They also offered website reviews.

For more information about the Wyoming Arts Council’s Visual Arts Fellowship program, contact Camellia El-Antably at 307-777-5305.

Sort By Category By Month By Year