Wyoming Arts Council

Applications Open for 2017 Blanchan and Doubleday Creative Writing Awards

The Wyoming Arts Council welcomes applications for the 2017 Blanchan and Doubleday writing awards.

The Neltje Blanchan Memorial Writing Award of $1,000, is given annually for the best poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, or script which is informed by a relationship with the natural world. The Frank Nelson Doubleday Award of $1,000 is given for the best poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, or script written by a woman writer.

Both categories are designed to bring attention to writers in Wyoming who have not yet received wide recognition for their work, and to support emerging writers at crucial times in their careers. Poets, fiction writers, essayists, and script writers who have published no more than one book in each genre and who are not students or faculty members are invited to apply by submitting manuscripts and an entry form by the deadline.


2017 Blanchan/Doubleday juror Taylor Brorby

All submissions must be completed through Submittable (instructions available here). Both awards close for submission at midnight on November 14.

The juror for this year’s awards is Taylor Brorby, an award-winning essayist, and a poet. A fellow at the Black Earth Institute, Taylor’s work has appeared in numerous journals, magazines, newspapers, as well as public radio. He is the editor of the country’s first anthology of creative writing on fracking, Fracture: Essays, Poems, and Stories on Fracking in America. He is Reviews Editor at Orion Magazine, and his first poetry collection, Crude: Poems, will be released next year. He is currently at work on another poetry collection as well as a collection of essays.

For additional information, please contact Rachel CliftonHunzie, rachel.clifton@wyo.gov, or 307-777-5305.

Sort By Category By Month By Year