Uncategorized | December 7, 2009
During the celebration, the Buffalo Bill Visitor Center will open at 9 a.m. Refreshments will be available and Beryl Gail Churchill will sign the centennial edition of her book, “Challenging the Canyon.”
The centennial photograph will be taken at 11 a.m. The public is invited to participate in the taking of the photograph. The Cody Trolley will be available to transport event participants from the Buffalo Bill Historical Center parking lot beginning at 9:45 a.m.
The Buffalo Bill Dam, originally called the Shoshone Dam, was completed in 1910, and at the time, was the highest dam in the world at 325 feet. Today, water stored behind the dam offers great recreational opportunities, and provides drinking and irrigation water to the Big Horn Basin.
The Buffalo Bill Visitor Center first opened in May 1993, and provides information about the dam, Cody and the Greater Yellowstone area. The center is staffed with local volunteers, paid staff and a Bureau of Land Management volunteer.
A gift store offers educational books and DVDs, and a small theater offers the visitor a one-of-a-kind experience in which to learn about the dam.