Wyoming Arts Council

Deadline Approaching for Wyoming Arts Council Fellowships

The application period closes June 10 for the Wyoming Arts Council fellowships in Visual Arts, Performing Arts, Creative Writing and the Native Art Fellowship. All fellowship recipients will receive a $3,000 unrestricted award as well as an opportunity to showcase their work in the state.

Fellowships are open to Wyoming residents, and are merit-based awards. Applications are juried by noted artists and professionals in the field who are from outside the state. 

The Visual Arts Fellowships are selected based on the artist’s portfolio and honoring work that reflects serious and exceptional investigation. Artists working in any medium may apply. Up to three fellowships may be given each year. Applications must be submitted online through CaFE . The jurors for this year’s Visual Arts Fellowships are Tasha Kubesh, Curator of Exhibitions and Collections at the Plains Art Museum in Fargo, N.D. and Louise Martorano, Executive Director of RedLine, a non-profit contemporary art center and residency located in Denver, Colo.

The Performing Arts Fellowships are given to honor excellence in the artists’ field and are based on appropriate media samples and artist statements. Up to four fellowships may be awarded; two in the category of Music and two in the category of Theatre and Dance. Artists may only apply in one category (Music or Theatre and Dance) and applications must be submitted online through Submittable. The juror for this year’s Performing Arts Fellowship in Theatre and Dance is Kate Jopson, a theatre, film, and voice-over director and producer based in Los Angeles, Calif. The juror for Music is Kenzi Everitt, Founder and Creative Director of Lady Cactus Media in Denver, Colo. 

The Creative Writing Fellowships are awards of merit, based on a writer’s body of work, and honoring Wyoming’s literary artists whose work demonstrates exceptional writing. One fellowship will be awarded in each category of Poetry, Creative Nonfiction, and Fiction, for a total of up to three fellowships. Writers may only submit in one category and applications must be submitted online through Submittable. The jurors for this year’s Creative Writing Fellowships are Jessica Jacobs from Asheville, NC for the Poetry category, Kailyn McCord from Oakland, Calif. for the Creative Nonfiction category, and Kali Fajardo-Anstine from Denver, Colo. for the Fiction category.

The Native Art Fellowship is an award of merit open to Native artists based within Wyoming, across any artistic discipline or medium (visual, literary, performing, folk & traditional, etc.) This fellowship is designed to raise the profiles of the highly talented Native artists in Wyoming and celebrate their artistry. One fellowship will be awarded and applications must be submitted online through Submittable. For the fellowship’s inaugural year, the two jurors will be Molina Parker (Lakota), of Red Shirt, S.D. and Adrienne Benjamin (Anishinaabe) of Isle, Minn. 

Additional information can be found on the Arts Council website. Complete eligibility requirements can be found with each call on Submittable and CaFE. For more information, contact Taylor Craig at the Arts Council, 307-274-6673 or taylor.craig@wyo.gov.

Sort By Category By Month By Year