Wyoming Arts Council

2016 Governor’s Arts Awards winners announced

Governor Matt Mead has announced the recipients of the Wyoming Arts Council’s 2016 Governor’s Arts Awards. Recipients will be honored at a dinner and awards ceremony on February 3, in Cheyenne.

The recipients are: Adam Duncan Harris, Ph.D., author/art historian/curator from Jackson;  Marianne Vinich, art teacher/visual artist from Lander; Tim Sandlin, arts advocate/writer from Jackson; and a posthumous award to Forrest E. Mars, Jr., an arts patron from Big Horn.


Established in 1982, the Governor’s Arts Awards winners are selected based on their substantial contributions made in Wyoming that exemplify a long-term commitment to the arts, with special consideration given to nominees whose arts service is statewide.

There are many nominations submitted for the Governor’s Arts Awards each year, and the selection process is quite competitive. Nominations are submitted to the Wyoming Arts Council in October, and reviewed in November by the Wyoming Arts Council Board, which sends recommendations to the Governor, who makes the final decisions on which recipients are honored.

Nominations are open to any Wyoming citizen, business or community member. Award criteria includes: length of commitment to the arts, outstanding contribution or impact, breadth of support, involvement in special initiatives supporting the arts, artistic excellence/level of standards.

The Governor’s Arts Awards were first made possible by an endowment from the Union Pacific Foundation in honor of Mrs. John U. Loomis, a life-long patron of the arts. Over the years, individuals and organizations from more than 20 Wyoming communities and state-wide organizations have been honored for their dedication to the arts in Wyoming.

For reservations to the February 3rd dinner and awards ceremony, or for more information on this event, contact the Wyoming Arts Council at 307-777-7742, or visit wygovartsawards.eventbrite.com.

Sort By Category By Month By Year