Wyoming Arts Council

Images by artists from Torrington and Cheyenne to be featured on new Wyoming coins

In recognition of the 125th Anniversary of Wyoming’s statehood which occurred on July 10, 1890, the state is producing a series of commemorative coins, three alloy, a gold, and a silver. Each will be available for sale to the public.

A special committee selected coin designs from an open call to artists for submissions. A buffalo image, by artist Julie Nighswonger of Torrington, will be used for the silver and gold coins.

The three alloy coin images are a pronghorn, by Cheyenne artist Wanda Sanders; Devils Tower, by California artist Alexis Murray; and an architectural rendering of the State Capitol chosen from a collection at the Wyoming State Archives.

The one-ounce .999 pure silver and 24K gold versions of the 125th Anniversary coin will sold individually and the alloy coins will be sold as a special limited edition collector set with a special commemorative card. Pre-sales of all coins will begin in December 2014. A gift receipt and card is available with purchase until the actual coins become available.

Sales proceeds will benefit Wyoming State Parks, Historic Sites and Cultural Programs.

All coin sales will be handled exclusively by the Wyoming State Museum store. For more information visit the store at 2301 Central Avenue, Cheyenne, 82009, call 307-777-5320, or via e-mail at anniversarycoin@wyo.gov.

Albany County artists arts arts education art show arts organizations author books call for entries Campbell County Colorado community concerts creative economy creative placemaking creativity exhibit film humanities international Laramie County library museums music Natrona County Park County performances performing arts photography poetry reception Sheridan County students summer Teton County theatre U.S. University of Wyoming visual arts workshop writers writing Wyoming Wyoming Arts Council Wyoming history
Sort By Category By Month By Year