Wyoming Arts Council

Last Week to Apply for Wyoming Arts Council Creative Writing Fellowship

Wyoming writers are reminded the deadline for Wyoming Arts Council 2017 Creative Writing fellowships applications is August 22.

The format of the 2017 fellowships is new: one fellowship will be awarded in each category of Poetry, Creative Nonfiction, and Fiction, for a total of three fellowships.

Applications are accepted online via Submittable at wyomingartscouncil. submittable.com/submit.

The annual Creative Writing fellowships are awards of merit, based on a writer’s body of work, and honoring Wyoming’s literary artists whose work reflects serious and exceptional writing. Recipients will receive a $3,000 fellowship. Also new this year: winners will receive a travel stipend to read their work at one of the statewide literary conferences.


2016-WAC-CW Fellowship winners

2016 Wyoming Arts Council poetry fellowship winners (from right) Carol Deering of Riverton, and Connie Brewer and Katie Smith, both from Gillette, pose with fellowship judge Rebecca Foust

Jurors for this year are:

Laurie Saurborn (poetry juror). An NEA Creative Writing Fellowship recipient, she teaches creative writing at the University of Texas at Austin, where she also directs the undergraduate creative writing program.

Ted Thompson (fiction juror). He has received fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, Writers Omi at the Ledig House, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and Brush Creek Foundation for the Arts. A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, he lives in Brooklyn with his family, where he teaches in the Brooklyn College MFA program.

Dave Madden (creative nonfiction juror). He has received fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and the Sewanee Writers’ Conference. He teaches in the MFA program at the University of San Francisco.

Applicants must be at least 18 years old and Wyoming residents, living within the state’s borders for at least ten months of the year since July 1, 2014. Applicants must not be a full-time student pursuing high school, college, or university art-related degrees. A complete list of eligibility requirements and additional information can be found on the Arts Council website at www.wyomingartscouncil.org.

For more information, contact Rachel Clifton, 307-777-5305 or rachel.clifton@wyo.gov.


Sort By Category By Month By Year