Wyoming Arts Council

New look & new venue for 12th annual Governor’s Capitol Art Exhibition

This year, the 12th Annual Governor’s Capitol Art Exhibition will feature a new look and a new venue with the show moving to the Hynds Building in downtown Cheyenne.

“We were searching for a way to expand the show, which has outgrown the constraints of the State Museum, and one which would accommodate other activities associated with the show in a more centralized setting,” David L. Newell, show organizer and curator of art at the Wyoming State Museum said. “The opportunity at the Hynds Building presented itself and we said yes!”

The Governor’s Capitol Art Exhibition is an annual juried group show featuring works from some of Wyoming’s best artists.

“Last year’s show included 43 works. This year we are able to include 70 works representing the creativity of 53 Wyoming artists,” Newell said. “And at 203 we also received a record number of submissions. I was thrilled that all areas of the state were represented in those submissions.”

All artwork in the show is for sale, as are the works in the adjoining Artist Alley. All sales benefit the purchase fund for the permanent art collection at the Wyoming State Museum.

Artists participating in the 2012 show include Joe Arnold (Laramie), Mike Beeman (Cheyenne), Joanne Bornong, (Sheridan), Mack Brislawn (Laramie), Sonja Caywood (Dayton), Mike Conaway (Evanston), Niki DeLancey (Laramie), Ken Driese (Laramie), Vanda Edington (Cheyenne), Michele Farrier (Alta), Michael Flicek (Casper), Tom Ford (Gillette), Jerry Glass (Laramie), William Hart (Green River), Jill Hartley (Rock Springs), Karen Henneck (Casper), Gary Huber (Buffalo), Travis Ivey (Laramie), Tony James (Cheyenne), William Jennings (Buffalo), Gary Keimig (Dubois), Joy Keown (Laramie), Chuck Kimmerle (Casper), Marian Kline (Cheyenne), Eric Lee (Cheyenne), Claire Leon (Story), Jessica Lippincott (Thermopolis), Virginia Madsen (Laramie), Jon Madsen (Laramie), David McDougall (Dayton), Greg McHuron (Jackson), Mike McIntosh (Cheyenne), Ron McIntosh (Laramie), Christine Meytras (Jackson), Lynn Newman (Cheyenne), Paul Ng (Rock Springs), Catherine Nicholas (Cheyenne), Eileen Nistler (Upton), Connie Norman (Cheyenne), Jerry Palen (Saratoga), Paul Prosinski (Buffalo), Win Ratz (Cheyenne), James Robinette (Cheyenne), Georgia Rowswell (Cheyenne), Tom Shaffer (Cheyenne), David Schuster (Lander), Ken Smith (Cheyenne), Joan Sowada (Gillette), Shane Steiss (Green River), Fairy Todd (Gillette), AB Word (Kirby), Jenny Wuerker (Buffalo), and Dianne Wyatt (Sheridan).

Established under an initiative by Governor Jim Geringer, and organized under the auspices of the Wyoming Arts Council and the Wyoming State Museum, the Governor’s Capitol Art Exhibition creates a collection of original Wyoming art for display in state offices. Works receiving purchase awards join this growing collection of prestigious art. The state’s five elected officials, and representatives from other state agencies participating in the program, select the purchase award winners.

The show will be on public display from 10 a.m.–4:30 p.m., Saturday, June 30, and Sunday, July 1 at the Hynds Building in downtown Cheyenne. The awards presentation ceremony is Saturday evening, June 30, from 5-7 p.m.

Sort By Category By Month By Year