Wyoming Arts Council

U.S. Senate confirms new NEA Chairman

From a National Endowment for the Arts press release:

Rocco Landesman, nominated by President Barack Obama as the tenth chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts, was confirmed today by the U.S. Senate. Upon his confirmation Mr. Landesman said:

“I am honored to receive the Senate’s vote of confirmation. I look forward to serving the nation as Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts. I believe this is an auspicious time for the NEA and the country. Art is essential to the civic, economic, and cultural vitality of our nation. It reflects who we are and what we stand for — freedom of expression, imagination, and vision. I am eager to work with our many partners to bring quality arts programs to neighborhoods and communities across the country.”

Mr. Landesman follows Dana Gioia who left the chairmanship in January 2009. Patrice Walker Powell, the NEA’s deputy chairman for state, regions, and local arts agencies has served as acting chairman in the interim.

Please see Mr. Landesman’s biography.

Sort By Category By Month By Year