Wyoming Arts Council

UW Theatre & Dance students earn honors

From a UW press release:

University of Wyoming Department of Theatre and Dance students and faculty members received top honors at last week’s Region VII Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) and Northwest Drama Conference (NWDC), held at UW.

A UW actor won the KCACTF Region VII Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship competition for the fifth straight year, picking up UW’s 12th regional award since 1990. Senior Nick Linn, Rapid City, S.D., won both the Region VII Irene Ryan competition and the Classical Acting Award. Senior Stephen Post, Spearfish, S.D., won the Irene Ryan Best Partner Award.

Linn and his partner, senior Chelsey Byrd, Fraser, Colo., will advance to the national festival April 14-20, at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C.
Senior Amy Hollon, Los Angeles, Calif., won the prestigious William Inge Festival Student Directing Award. Her scene, featuring three UW students, will be performed in Independence, Kan., at the William Inge Festival later this spring. Inge, one of America’s most famous playwrights, produced such works as “Bus Stop,” “Picnic” and “The Dark at the Top of the Stairs.”

Senior Anna Brownsted, Dallas, Texas, was the Region VII One-Act Play winner for her piece, “Niagara Fell.” Of the eight KC/ACTF regions nationwide, four regional one-act play and four 10-minute play winners will be selected to compete in April’s national competition.

Brownsted was also one of six students chosen to direct for the 10-minute play competition at the regional festival and is first alternate for the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers 10-Minute Play Directing Fellowship.

UW doctoral student in psychology, Nicholas Gene Terpstra-Schwab of Colfax, Iowa, won the National Playwriting Program 10-Minute Play competition with his piece, “Sharing This Room With You.”

Senior Nicole Watts, Laramie, won a KCACTF Meritorious Achievement Award in Makeup Design for her work on “Uncle Vanya.” Junior Laura Shockley, Green River, won a Meritorious Achievement Award in Costume Design for her work on “The ‘M’ Word.”

UW Professor Larry Hazlett won the Region VII Faculty Excellence Recognition in Lighting Design Fellowship, while department head and Professor of Theatre and Dance Leigh Selting won the Region VII Classical Acting Coach award.

Sort By Category By Month By Year