Wyoming Arts Council

WAC announces winners of creative writing fellowships in poetry w/update

The Wyoming Arts Council is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s creative writing fellowships in poetry.

They are Matt Daly and Claudia Mauro of Jackson and W. Dale Nelson of Laramie. They each will receive a $3,000 award plus a $500 stipend to travel to Casper to read their work at the annual fellowship reading Sept. 14 at the Equality State Book Festival. They will be joined at the reading by fellowship judge Brian Turner, a soldier-poet who is the author of two poetry collections, “Here, Bullet” and “Phantom Noise.”

Honorable mentions in this category go to Michael McIrvin of Cheyenne and Kristen Gunther of Laramie.

This is the 27th year for the creative writing fellowships sponsored by the Wyoming Arts Council. Next year’s category will be creative nonfiction. Applications will be available in spring 2013.

For more information, contact Michael Shay at 307-777-5234 or mike.shay@wyo.gov.

UPDATED 8/8/2012: http://wyomingarts.blogspot.com/2012/08/more-info-on-wyoming-arts-council.html

Sort By Category By Month By Year