Wyoming Arts Council

Visual Arts Fellowships

The 2020-2021 Biennial Fellowship Exhibition at the Nicolaysen Art Museum.


Visual Arts Fellowships are $3,000 unrestricted awards of merit, based on the artist’s portfolio, honoring the work of Wyoming visual artists whose work reflects serious and exceptional aesthetic investigation. Artists working in any media, including film and video, may apply. Applications are juried by noted artists, curators, and others in the visual arts from outside the state. Up to three fellowships may be given each year, and jurors may also select honorable mentions.

Recipients of the Visual Arts fellowships exhibit their work in the Wyoming Arts Council Biennial Exhibit, held every two years at a major visual arts institution or museum in the state. Applications are currently closed. Check back in spring 2023 for the next round of applications.


Tasha Kubesh

Tasha Kubesh has over twenty years of experience working with contemporary visual artists and art in the Midwest region, specializing in the presentation of Modern American and Contemporary Art.

Previous Curator of Exhibitions and Collections at Plains Art Museum in Fargo, North Dakota, and Gallery Director at Flanders Art, Minneapolis, MN, Kubesh has organized numerous exhibitions, including both emerging and well-established artists. Kubesh graduated from Minneapolis College of Art and Design, Minneapolis, MN, in 2001, and studied at Parsons Paris School of Art and Design, Paris, France, and Colorado College, Colorado Springs, CO.


Bobbi Walker

Bobbi Walker founded Walker Fine Art in 1999, and opened the gallery space in June of 2002.  She has been actively involved in the arts community in Denver for over  20 years.   Bobbi served two 3 year terms  on the  Denver Commission on Cultural Affairs.  She  is an Associates member of the Denver Art Museum (DAM), and serves as an Ambassador of the Museum Friends. She was President of the Denver Art Dealers Association (DADA) for 3 years.  She has served on the boards of the Golden Triangle Museum District (GTMD) and the Golden Triangle Neighborhood Association (GTA).  She is a member of the Colorado Business Community for the Arts (CBCA), Arts for Colorado, Visit Denver,  Redline, and the Downtown Denver Partnership.

She has been a speaker at the Denver Office of Cultural Affairs (DOCA) Arts Business Expo for 5 consecutive years.  She was a speaker for the Denver Metro Small Business Development Center (SBDC ) NxLevel premier training program  for small business planning.  She has had speaking engagements with arts and humanities classes at Colorado University (Boulder and Denver), Metropolitan State Denver (MSCD) , Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design (RMCAD) , and Arapaho Community College.  She was one of 4 participants in The  Business of Art  panel at Redline.  She has participated in steering committee discussions for Colorado Community for the Arts, Denver Arts Week, Denver Theatre District, and Curious Theatre. 

Previous Visual Arts Fellowship Recipients

List of Previous Recipients

1986 Val Brinkerhoff, Bruce Dehnert, Laura Lacy, Sylvia Long

1987 John Giarrizzo, John Haberman, Elizabeth C. Howell, Dean Johnson

1988 Sandra Chupka, Richard Evans, Carl Niederer, Gary Poush

1989 Stan Dolega, Larry Friedman, Robert Seabeck, Laurie Thal

1990 Patrick Christensen, Gregory Charles Gaylor, Lynne Hull, Linda Ryan

1991 Jerry Rodriguez, Craig Satterlee, Deborah Throop, Sharon Waldron

1992 Christy Love, Kathy Gaye Shiroki, John Giarrizzo, Dean Johnson

1993 Pip Brant, Bettina Demetz, Jessica Holt, Susan Stone

1994 Mary-Alice Huemoeller, Sava Malachowski, Maurice Mayer, Devendra Shrikhande

1995 Raphael Di Luzio, Adam Jahiel, Christine Karkow

1996 Marta Amundson, Cindy Warnock, Laura Lacy

1997 Frederic Joy, Phyllis Kloda, Scott Torkelson

1998-99 Duane Brant, Francis Fox, Laura Guinan, Mark Ritchie, Steve Schrepferman, Sue Sommers

2000-01 Leah Hardy, Ken Kidder, Ricki Klages, Bronwyn Minton, Jon Madsen, Linda Ryan

2002-03 Elijah Cobb, Kaidi Morgan Dunston, Pat Jeffers, Melissa Malm, Laurie Thal, Adam Jahiel, Marta Amundson

2004-05 Penelope Caldwell, Lorre Hoffman, Mike McClure, Connie Norman, Curtis Olson, Bronwyn Minton

2006-07 Ashley Hope Carlisle, Zane Lancaster, Jim Laybourne, Ginnie Madsen, Mark Ritchie, Jon Madsen

2008 Matt Flint, Doug Russell, Ricki Klages

2009 Florence Alfano McEwin, David Henderson, Leah Hardy

2010 David Jones, Shelby Shadwell, Penelope Caldwell

2011 Jenny Dowd, David Klaren, Adrienne Vetter

2012 Joe Arnold, Chuck Kimmerle, Jenny Wuerker

2013 Abbie Miller, Susan Thulin, John Haberman

2014 Suzanne Morlock, Do Palma, Aaron Wallis

2015 Diana Baumbach, June Glasson, Thomas Macker

2016 Susan Moldenhauer, Jennifer Rife, Georgia Rowswell

2017 Bailey Russel, Florence Alfano McEwin, Shelby Shadwell

2018 Margaret K. Hayden, Patrick Kikut, Robert Martinez

2019 Elaine Olafson Henry Joe Arnold,  Andy Kincaid

2020 Wendy Bredehoft, Garrett Cruzan, Favian Hernandez

2021 Diana Baumbach, Shawn Bush, Rachel Hawkinson

2022 Al Hubbard, DaleRae Green, Kyle Reed

Grant Information

Contact: Kimberly Mittelstadt