Wyoming Arts Council

Performing Arts Fellowships


Performing Arts Fellowships are $3,000 unrestricted awards of merit that are given in honor of excellence in the artist’s field. They are juried by noted professionals in the field based on appropriate media samples and artist statements. The Wyoming Arts Council is now accepting applications for the Performing Arts Fellowships. Applications must be submitted online through Submittable where full details and eligibility requirements can be found. The deadline to apply is June 10, 2021.



Theatre and Dance – Kate Jopson

Kate Jopson is a theatre, film, and voice-over director and producer based in Los Angeles. She is a co-founder of ALISO which specializes in experienced-based productions that explore the gaps and silences in society. Live performance credits include: Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (6 Ovation Award Nominations – Greenway Court Theatre); Hole in the Sky (Circle X Theatre Co.) Madhatter’s Gin & Tea Party (Fever Up Productions); Candide (Santa Cruz Shakespeare); Fefu & Her Friends at Hollyhock House (Circle X Theatre/J.U.S.T Toys Productions, LA); 1984 (Greenway Court Theatre, LA); An Accident (Griot Theatre, LA), Twelfth Night (Coeurage Theatre Co. LA); Second Skin (The West/The Flagship Ensemble); A Willow Grows Aslant (La Jolla Playhouse—Without Walls Fest.).  Her genre-bending web series, The Web Opera, composed by Michael Roth, has been accepted to 30 film festivals (“Best Director” Moody Crab Fest; “Most Original Concept” Short, Tight and Loose Global Festival; ). Voice-over directing credits include: Valley of Tears (HBO max), GIMS (Netflix),  Who Killed Little Gregory (Netflix). Acting credits include: Perfect Life (HBO Max), Brotherhood (Netflix), Society of Virtue, Dynasty Warriors Nine.  Former Artistic Director of Circle X Theatre Company.  B.A in Anthropology from UC Berkeley; M.F.A in Directing from UC San Diego.

Music – Kenzi Everitt

Kenzi Everitt is a creator, community builder, and coffee enthusiast based in Colorado. She is the Founder & Creative Director of Lady Cactus Media, a media collective providing free & subsidized video services for local musicians. She is also a photographer with a focus on live music and portraiture and plays in the band Kinesics. Kenzi has a BS in Music Business from CU Denver and is currently working toward her MA in Arts Management at Colorado State University.


Previous Performing Arts Fellowship Recipients

List of Previous Recipients

1990 Beth McIntosh (musician); Lisa Morgan (choreographer); Ron Steger (scenic design); Eugene Zenzen (musician)

1991 Jewel Dirks (composer); Gary Smart (musician); Britton Theurer (musician); Patricia Tate (choreographer)

1992 Chris Kennedy (musician); Randy Milligan (actor); Margaret Stalder (choreographer); Lucy Woodman (composer)

1993 David Dundas (scenic designer); Pamela Glasser (musician); The Grizzlies (musicians); Terry Yazzolino (storyteller)

1994 Tom Empey (theatre director); Kevin S. Hart (musician); Larry Hazlett (light design); Ann Panalsek (choreographer)

1995 Rebecca Hilliker (theatre director); Gary Smart (composer); Theodore Lapina (musician)

1996 Janet Griffith (musician); Jewel Dirks (composer); Patrick Brien (theatre director)

2002 Music Composition: Dave Brinkman (composer), Laramie; Jeff Troxel (composer), Powell

2003 Theatre & Dance Performance: Bob Berky (theatrical clown/mime), Jackson; General McArthur Hambrick (dancer), Laramie

2004 Music Performance: Judd Grossman (singer/guitarist), Jackson; Scott Turpen (saxophonist), Laramie

2005 Theatre Direction, Choreography & Stage Design: Barbara “Babs” Case (choreography), Jackson; Ken George (set design), Casper; Marsha Knight (choreography), Laramie

2006 Music Composition: Christian Erickson (composer), Gillette; Anne Guzzo (composer), Laramie

2007 Theatre & Dance Performance: Kema Jamal (dancer), Cheyenne; Jodeen Tebay (dancer), Jackson

2008 Awards on one-year hiatus

2009 Music Performance: Anne Sibley (singer/musician), Jackson; Theresa Bogard (pianist), Laramie

2010 Theatre Direction, Dance Choroeography and Stage Design: Larry Hazlett  (lighting designer), Laramie; Carrie Noel Richer (film director & choreographer), Jackson; Babs Case (choreographer), Jackson

2011 Music Composition: Anne Marie Guzzo (composer), Laramie; Jeff Troxel (singer/songwriter), Powell

2013 Theatre & Dance Performance: Lawrence Jackson (dancer), Laramie; Natalia Duncan (actor), Jackson. Interview with Natalia Duncan.

2014  Music Performance: Madelaine German, Jackson; Miss “V” the Gypsy Cowbelle, Thermopolis

2017 Music Composition: Ron Coulter, Casper; Theatre & Dance Performance: Rachel Holmes, Jackson;

2018 Music Composition: Ben Markley, Laramie; Leif Routman, Jackson; Beth Vanderborgh, Laramie; Dr. Mark Elliot Bergman, Sheridan

2019 Music: Michael Gould, Cody, WY; Nicole Lamartine, Laramie, WY Theatre & Dance: Marsha Knight,  Laramie, WY; Kathleen Vreeland Cheyenne, WY

2020 Music – Aaron Davis, Jackson; Abby Webster, Wilson; Theatre and Dance – Anne Mason, Laramie; Luke Dakota Zender, Jackson

Grant Information

Deadline: Varies
Amount: $3,000
Contact: Taylor Craig
Apply Here