Wyoming Arts Council

WAC visual arts fellowships announced

The Wyoming Arts Council is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 visual arts fellowships. They are Matt Flint, Lander; Ricki Klages, Laramie; and Doug Russell, Laramie. They each will receive a $3,000 prize and will participate in the 2009 fellowship biennial exhibit.

Two artists received honorable mentions: Florence McEwin of Rock Springs and Craig Satterlee of Powell. Their work will be featured in an upcoming exhibition (details TBA).

Judges for the 2008 visual arts fellowships were Lawrence Argent, sculptor and professor at University of Denver; Mary K. Connelly, painter and professor at CU-Denver, and Patty Ortiz, sculptor and director of the Museo de las Americas. The judging session was held May 21 at the offices of the Western States Arts Federation (WESTAF) in downtown Denver.

Biographical information on the fellowship recipients and honorable mentions — and samples of their work — will be featured in future posts.

For more information, contact Michael Shay, individual artists program specialist, at 307-777-5234 or

Sort By Category By Month By Year