Wyoming Arts Council

We invite you to "Inspiration & Reflection"

The University of Wyoming Art Museum and the Wyoming Arts Council have joined forces to co-sponsor “Public Art and Community: Inspiration and Reflection” April 2-4 at the UW Conference Center in Laramie.

Ten of the artists in “Sculpture: A Wyoming Invitational” will present sessions on their work. Nearly 30 additional presenters will discuss other public art programs in Wyoming, various aspects of planning and installing the sculpture exhibition in Laramie, how the exhibition has been used in the classroom, and offer creative responses to the sculpture.

The symposium also offers opportunities for Wyoming’s artists to gather for the announcement of the Wyoming Arts Council’s Visual Arts Fellowship Awards and to participate in roundtable discussions with Wyoming Arts Council staff to discuss WAC programs and artists’ needs.

Two sessions of the symposium on Thursday, April 2, are free and open to the public:

Art Slam features internationally renowned artists John Henry, Ursula von Rydingsvard, and Jesús Moroles in a discussion about their work. A special opportunity for any conference attendee to share their creative work or information about the arts in their communities will follow.
20:20 is an exciting and energetic format whereby presenters will be able to show 20 images for 20 seconds for each image in a PowerPoint presentation. Advance sign-up is required for artists and organizational representatives who wish to contribute to this kaleidoscopic view of the arts in Wyoming.

Presenters will include artists John Henry, Jesús Moroles, Ursula von Rydingsvard, Steven Siegel, Charmaine Locke, James Surls, Charles Parson, Carl Reed, Linda Fleming, and Stan Dolega; Wyoming Fellowship jurors Lawrence Argent and Greg Esser; Phil Harris, UW VP Administration; Howard Major, Dean, Art & Humanities, Laramie County Community College; Pam Wolfe, Chair, Green River Arts Council; Nita Kehoe, Professor of Art, Central Wyoming College, Riverton; Melanie Howlett, Art Teacher, Starrett Junior High School, Lander; Duane Evenson, Mayor, Gillette; Ben Hornok, Haselden Construction; Terry Cooper, ARK; UW Faculty Harvey Hix, Margaret Wilson, Rod Garnett, Ashley Hope Carlisle, David Jones, Allen Trent, and Peter Moran; UW students Travis Ivey and Jedadiah Cracco; Rachael Sisneros, Joe Sanchez, Albert Haskins and Pat Jones, UW Physical Plant; and more.

Registration for the symposium is now open. Forms may be downloaded from the UW Art Museum webpage at www.uwyo.edu/artmuseum or may be requested by calling the Art Museum, 307-766-6622 or the Wyoming Arts Council, 307-777-7742. Early bird registration ends March 15, 2009. A special rate for students is also available.

The museum is located in the Centennial Complex at 2111 Willett Dr in Laramie. The museum and Museum Store are open Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Admission is free.

FMI: 307-766-6622, uwartmuseum.blogspot.com/, wyomingarts.blogspot.com

PHOTO: Ursula von Rydingsvard’s “Doolin Doolin” on the sculpture terrace of the UW Art Museum. Photo courtesy of the UW Art Museum.

Sort By Category By Month By Year