Wyoming Arts Council

Winners announced for 2010 WAC Blanchan & Doubleday writing awards

The Wyoming Arts Council is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 Blanchan/Doubleday writing awards.

Recipient of the Neltje Blanchan Memorial Writing Award for nature writing is W. Dale Nelson of Laramie. He will receive a $1,000 prize for “A Retrospect of Poems.” Honorable mentions in this category go to Marcia Casey of Wilson for a group of poems entitled “Purl” and Jenn Koiter of Laramie for her creative nonfiction entry, “Labyrinth.”

Recipient of the Frank Nelson Doubleday Memorial Writing Award for women writers is Nina. S. McConigley of Laramie. She will receive a $1,000 prize for her short story, “Fenced Out.” Honorable mention goes to Michelle Sherwood of Green River for a novel excerpt, “Trona.”

Judge for this year’s competition was Aaron Abeyta, an award-winning poet and novelist who teaches at Adams State College in Alamosa, Colorado.

The competition is sponsored by the Wyoming Arts Council and funded by artist and arts patron Neltje.

For more information about the Wyoming Arts Council’s programs for individual artists, contact Michael Shay at 307-777-5234 or mshay@state.wy.us

Sort By Category By Month By Year