Wyoming Arts Council

Wyoming Arts Council Now Accepting Fellowship Applications

The Wyoming Arts Council is now accepting applications for fellowships in Native Art, Visual Arts, Performing Arts, and Creative Writing. Fellowships are open to Wyoming residents, and are merit-based awards.

Applications are juried by noted artists and professionals in the field who are from outside the state. The deadline to apply to all fellowships is June 9, 2023. All fellowship recipients will receive a $3,000 unrestricted award as well as an opportunity to showcase their work in the state. 

The Native Art Fellowship is based on the artist’s portfolio, honoring the work of Native artists based within Wyoming. Artists working across any artistic discipline or medium (visual, literary, performing, folk & traditional, etc.) may apply. This fellowship is designed to raise the profiles of the highly talented Native artists in Wyoming and celebrate their artistry. Up to two fellowships will be awarded this year and applications must be submitted online through Submittable. This year’s jurors are Karen Ann Hoffman, a Haudenosaunee Raised Beadwork artist and citizen of the Oneida Nation of Wisconsin and artist Daniel McCoy, of the The Muscogee Nation, who resides in Santa Fe, New Mexico with his family. 

The Visual Arts Fellowships are selected based on the artist’s portfolio and honoring work that reflects serious and exceptional investigation. Artists working in any medium may apply. Up to three fellowships may be given each year. Applications must be submitted online through CaFE . The jurors for this year’s Visual Arts Fellowships are Lawrence Diggs and Ginger Porcella.

The Performing Arts Fellowships are given to honor excellence in the artists’ field and are based on appropriate media samples and artist statements. Up to four fellowships may be awarded; two in the category of Music and two in the category of Theatre and Dance. Artists may only apply in one category (Music or Theatre and Dance) and applications must be submitted online through Submittable The juror for this year’s Performing Arts Fellowship in Theatre and Dance is Mathew Roberts and the juror for the Music category is Mark Rabideau.

The Creative Writing Fellowships are awards of merit, based on a writer’s body of work, and honoring Wyoming’s literary artists whose work demonstrates exceptional writing. One fellowship will be awarded in each category of Poetry, Creative Nonfiction, and Fiction, for a total of up to three fellowships. Writers may only submit in one category and applications must be submitted online through Submittable. The jurors for this year’s Creative Writing Fellowships are Ramona Ausubel for Fiction,  Juan J. Morales for Poetry, and Katherine E. Standefer for Nonfiction. 

Additional information can be found on the Arts Council website. Complete eligibility requirements can be found with each call on Submittable and CaFE. For more information, contact Kimberly Mittelstadt at the Arts Council, 307-274-6673 or kimberly.mittelstadt@wyo.gov.

Sort By Category By Month By Year