Wyoming Arts Council

Performing Arts Fellowships


Performing Arts Fellowships are $3,000 unrestricted awards of merit that are given in honor of excellence in the artist’s field. They are juried by noted professionals in the field based on appropriate media samples and artist statements. Applications are currently closed. Check back in spring 2023 for the next round of applications.


Dominic Moore-Dunson | Theatre & Dance

Dominic Moore-Dunson is an award-winning choreographer, professional dancer, producer, teaching artist and speaker. Dominic is the founder of MooreDunson Co., an arts, media, and entertainment company committed to creating, producing, and presenting storytelling brands like The Black Card Project.

A 2021 Top 40 finalist of the National Dance Project Production Grant of his work “inCOPnegro”, Dominic has received numerous recognitions as a choreographer including a 2021 Associate Artist at Atlantic Center for the Arts #180 with Doug Varone, the 2019 Cleveland Arts Prize’s Emerging Artist Award for Theatre & Dance and a 2019 fellow of The Ann & Weston Hicks Choreography Program at Jacob’s Pillow. Moore-Dunson is a Creative Research Residency Artist and named a Creative Administration Research Fellow with the National Choreography Center at The University of Akron.

Other fellowships include 2019 Akron Arts Alive! “Outstanding Artists in Dance”, and 2019 “New Agent” by moCa Cleveland, 2018 Breakout Artist by the Devil Strip Magazine, 2016 National Arts Strategies Creative Community Fellow , 2016 IPAY Colleen Porter Fellow (International Performing Arts for Youth), and an inaugural member of Leadership Akron’s Diversity on Board Program.

Dominic is a graduate of National Arts Strategies’ Executive Program for Arts & Culture Strategies at the University of Pennsylvania. A program designed to enhance all capacities to lead a successful arts & culture non-profit organization.

Storm Gloor | Music

Storm Gloor, MBA, is an associate professor in the Music and Entertainment Industry Studies department of the College of Arts and Media at the University of Colorado Denver. He is program director of the Music Business area. Associate professor Gloor’s teaching experience includes courses such as Music Marketing, Music Cities, Music in the Digital Age, Introduction to the Music Business, and Artist Management.  He is the faculty sponsor for all internships within the College of Arts & Media. His research has included investigations of music piracy, artist careers, effects of the pandemic on music economies, and marketing messages in popular song lyrics.

Associate professor Gloor was the recipient of the university’s 2018 Excellence In Teaching award and the college’s 2020 Excellence in Service award.  Professor Gloor is the immediate past president of the Music and Entertainment Industry Educators Association, and serves as a city councilman for Glendale, Colorado. He is a co-founder of the Amplify Music Conference, through which he co-produced 2020 and 2021 virtual convenings of music community leaders from over 20 countries. In 2020, he was awarded a prestigious Presidential Initiative Grant for Urban and Place-Based Research. Most recently he was awarded a Pivot Award for the 2021 CU Denver Denver Pandemic Research and Creative Activities Awards. He has presented at numerous events and programs, including SXSW.edu, South By Southwest Music, the Music Cities Convention, the MoPop conference, the MEIEA Music Educators Summit, the Future of Music Summit, the Underground Music Showcase, the Denver Music Summit, The Association for Popular Music Education conference, the NAMM/GenNext conference, and the EdMedia world conference.


Previous Performing Arts Fellowship Recipients

List of Previous Recipients

1990 Beth McIntosh (musician); Lisa Morgan (choreographer); Ron Steger (scenic design); Eugene Zenzen (musician)

1991 Jewel Dirks (composer); Gary Smart (musician); Britton Theurer (musician); Patricia Tate (choreographer)

1992 Chris Kennedy (musician); Randy Milligan (actor); Margaret Stalder (choreographer); Lucy Woodman (composer)

1993 David Dundas (scenic designer); Pamela Glasser (musician); The Grizzlies (musicians); Terry Yazzolino (storyteller)

1994 Tom Empey (theatre director); Kevin S. Hart (musician); Larry Hazlett (light design); Ann Panalsek (choreographer)

1995 Rebecca Hilliker (theatre director); Gary Smart (composer); Theodore Lapina (musician)

1996 Janet Griffith (musician); Jewel Dirks (composer); Patrick Brien (theatre director)

2002 Music Composition: Dave Brinkman (composer), Laramie; Jeff Troxel (composer), Powell

2003 Theatre & Dance Performance: Bob Berky (theatrical clown/mime), Jackson; General McArthur Hambrick (dancer), Laramie

2004 Music Performance: Judd Grossman (singer/guitarist), Jackson; Scott Turpen (saxophonist), Laramie

2005 Theatre Direction, Choreography & Stage Design: Barbara “Babs” Case (choreography), Jackson; Ken George (set design), Casper; Marsha Knight (choreography), Laramie

2006 Music Composition: Christian Erickson (composer), Gillette; Anne Guzzo (composer), Laramie

2007 Theatre & Dance Performance: Kema Jamal (dancer), Cheyenne; Jodeen Tebay (dancer), Jackson

2008 Awards on one-year hiatus

2009 Music Performance: Anne Sibley (singer/musician), Jackson; Theresa Bogard (pianist), Laramie

2010 Theatre Direction, Dance Choroeography and Stage Design: Larry Hazlett  (lighting designer), Laramie; Carrie Noel Richer (film director & choreographer), Jackson; Babs Case (choreographer), Jackson

2011 Music Composition: Anne Marie Guzzo (composer), Laramie; Jeff Troxel (singer/songwriter), Powell

2013 Theatre & Dance Performance: Lawrence Jackson (dancer), Laramie; Natalia Duncan (actor), Jackson. Interview with Natalia Duncan.

2014  Music Performance: Madelaine German, Jackson; Miss “V” the Gypsy Cowbelle, Thermopolis

2017 Music Composition: Ron Coulter, Casper; Theatre & Dance Performance: Rachel Holmes, Jackson;

2018 Music Composition: Ben Markley, Laramie; Leif Routman, Jackson; Beth Vanderborgh, Laramie; Dr. Mark Elliot Bergman, Sheridan

2019 Music: Michael Gould, Cody, WY; Nicole Lamartine, Laramie, WY Theatre & Dance: Marsha Knight,  Laramie, WY; Kathleen Vreeland Cheyenne, WY

2020 Music – Aaron Davis, Jackson; Abby Webster, Wilson; Theatre and Dance – Anne Mason, Laramie; Luke Dakota Zender, Jackson

2021: Music: Andrew Wheelock, Laramie; Tris Munsick, Sheridan; Theatre & Dance: Aaron Wood, Casper; Andrew Munz, Jackson

Grant Information

Deadline: Varies
Amount: $3,000
Contact: Kimberly Mittelstadt