Wyoming Arts Council

2018 Governor’s Arts Awards Recipients to be honored on Feb. 8

Governor Matt Mead has announced the recipients of the Wyoming Arts Council’s 2018 Governor’s Arts Awards. Recipients will be honored at a dinner and awards ceremony on Feb. 8 in Cheyenne.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Visual artist and educator Karyne Dunbar from Shell
  • Artisan and leatherworker Keith Seidel from Cody
  • Ceramics artist, educator, and editor Elaine Henry from Big Horn
  • Dancer, choreographer, and educator Marsha Knight from Laramie

Established in 1982, the Governor’s Arts Awards winners are selected based on their substantial contributions made in Wyoming that exemplify a long-term commitment to the arts, with special consideration given to nominees whose arts service is statewide.

There are many nominations submitted for the Governor’s Arts Awards each year, and the selection process is competitive. Nominations are submitted to the Wyoming Arts Council in October and reviewed in November by the Wyoming Arts Council Board. The Board then sends recommendations to the Governor for the final decision.

Nominations are open to any Wyoming citizen, business or community member. Award criteria includes: length of commitment to the arts, outstanding contribution or impact, breadth of support, involvement in special initiatives supporting the arts, artistic excellence/level of standards.

The Governor’s Arts Awards were first made possible by an endowment from the Union Pacific Foundation in honor of Mrs. John U. Loomis, a lifelong patron of the arts. Over the years, individuals and organizations from more than 25 Wyoming communities and statewide organizations have been honored for their dedication to the arts in Wyoming.

Sort By Category By Month By Year