Wyoming Arts Council

Apply now for Wyoming Arts Council 2019 Blanchan and Doubleday Memorial Writing Awards

The Wyoming Arts Council is accepting applications for the 2019 Blanchan and Doubleday Memorial Writing Awards.

Applications are accepted online via Submittable at https://wyomingartscouncil.submittable.com/submit. The application deadline is March 11, 2019.

The Neltje Blanchan Memorial Writing Award and the Frank Nelson Doubleday Memorial Writing Award are made possible through the generosity of a private donor.

The Doubleday Award of $1,000 is given for the best poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, or script written by a woman writer.

The Blanchan Award, also $1,000, is given annually for the best poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, or script which is informed by a relationship with the natural world.

Both awards are designed to bring attention to writers in Wyoming who have not yet received wide recognition for their work, and to support emerging writers at crucial times in their careers. Poets, fiction writers, essayists, and script writers who have published no more than one book in each genre and who are not students or faculty members are invited to apply by submitting manuscripts and an entry form by the deadline.

The juror for this year is Belle Boggs. Boggs is the author of “The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood” and Mattaponi Queen,” a collection of linked stories set along Virginia’s Mattaponi River.

The Art of Waiting” was a finalist for the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay and was named a best book of the year by KirkusPublishers Weeklythe Globe and Mail, Buzzfeedand O, the Oprah Magazine. “Mattaponi Queen” won the Bakeless Prize and the Library of Virginia Literary Award and was a finalist for the 2010 Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award.

She has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the North Carolina Arts Council, and the Bread Loaf and Sewanee writers’ conferences. She teaches in the MFA program at North Carolina State University.

A complete list of eligibility requirements and additional information can be found on the Arts Council website at www.wyomingartscouncil.org For more information, contact the Arts Council at 307-777-7742.

Caption: Juror Belle Boggs

Sort By Category By Month By Year