Wyoming Arts Council

Postmark deadline is Oct. 9 for 2015 Governor’s Arts Awards

jim wilcox with painting

Jackson’s Jim Wilcox, recipient of a 2014 Governor’s Arts Award, poses with one of his paintings.

The Wyoming Arts Council now is accepting nominations for the 2015 Governor’s Arts Awards.

Any Wyoming citizen, organization, business or community may be nominated for a Governor’s Art Award. Noted accomplishments should reflect substantial contributions, made in Wyoming, that exemplify a long-term commitment to the arts. Special consideration will be given to nominees whose arts service is statewide.

Established in 1982, the Governor’s Arts Awards recognize excellence in the arts and outstanding service to the arts in Wyoming. These awards were first made possible by an endowment from the Union Pacific Foundation in honor of Mrs. John U. Loomis, a lifelong patron of the arts. Over the years, individuals and organizations from more than 21 Wyoming communities and statewide organizations have been honored for their dedication to the arts in Wyoming.

Previous GAA recipients are not eligible for nomination, but nomination of previously unselected nominees is encouraged. Current Wyoming Arts Council board members, staff members, contractors and members of their families are not eligible for nomination.

Nominations must be postmarked no later than October 9, 2015.

Nominations forms will soon be sent to those on the WAC mailing list. Download a nomination form by going to the WAC web site.

Find a complete list of past GAA recipients here.

For more information, contact 307-777-7742 or brittany.perez@wyo.gov

Home page photo: 2013 Governor’s Arts Awards recipient Guadalupe Barajas works in his Cheyenne studio/gallery.

Sort By Category By Month By Year